MAN RAY (Emmanuel Radnitsky, dit) 1890-1976

Lot 45
Got to lot
Estimation :
1200 - 1500 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 3 200EUR
MAN RAY (Emmanuel Radnitsky, dit) 1890-1976

Henry D. Thoreau, photograph taken in 1958 by Man Ray from the 1861 ambrotype. Photograph. Silver print from the period, annotated in pencil on the back. Accidents. Image: 30.3 x 24 cm; sheet: 35 x 29.5 cm. Provenance: Gift of Man Ray to Madame Renée Lemaître, by descent. The negative of this image is kept in the collections of the Musée national d'Art Moderne, Centre Pompidou, Paris.

MAN RAY

Collection of Madame Renée Lemaître

In 1963, the Benjamin Franklin Library, part of the American Embassy, organized exhibitions in the windows overlooking the Place de l'Odéon in Paris. Man Ray, who lived next door to the library, came as a neighbour and took part in these events by lending his large-print typewriter to write the labels. Following the exhibition "The Masters of American Photography", he gave six rayograms to the person in charge of the exhibitions, Renée Lemaître, who had become a friend and with whom he liked to discuss American literature.

The exhibition organised on the Transcendentalists gave a large place to Henry David Thoreau, one of Man Ray's favourite authors, who offered to do his portrait. Of course, Thoreau had died in 1862, but he started with an ambrotype which he recontrasted, reframed, and managed to make a modern and evocative portrait of the famous philosopher. This portrait was used for an exhibition and an educational publication of the Freinet movement in June 1975. The negative is kept in the Man Ray collection at the Centre Pompidou.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

MAN RAY (Emmanuel Radnitsky, dit) 1890-1976

Lot 45
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1200 - 1500 EUR
MAN RAY (Emmanuel Radnitsky, dit) 1890-1976

Henry D. Thoreau, photographie réalisée en 1958 par Man Ray d'après l'ambrotype de 1861. Photographie. Tirage argentique d'époque, annoté au crayon au dos. Accidents. Image : 30,3 x 24 cm ; feuille : 35 x 29,5 cm. Provenance : Don de Man Ray à Madame Renée Lemaître, par descendance. Le négatif de cette image est conservé dans les collections du Musée national d'Art Moderne, Centre Pompidou, Paris.

MAN RAY

Collection de Madame Renée Lemaître

En 1963, la bibliothèque Benjamin Franklin, dépendant de l’ambassade américaine, organisait des expositions dans les vitrines donnant sur la Place de l’Odéon à Paris. Man Ray, qui habitait à côté passait en voisin et participait à ces manifestations en prêtant sa machine à écrire à gros caractères pour rédiger les cartels. A la suite de l’exposition "Les maîtres de la photographie américaine", il donna six rayogrammes à la responsable des expositions, Renée Lemaître qui était devenue une amie et avec qui il aimait discuter de littérature américaine.

L’exposition organisée sur les transcendentalistes laissait une large place à Henry David Thoreau, un des auteurs préférés de Man Ray qui proposa de faire son portrait. Bien entendu Thoreau était mort en 1862, mais qu’à cela ne tienne, il partit d’un ambrotype qu’il recontrasta, recadra, trama, et parvint à faire un portrait moderne et évocateur du célèbre philosophe. Ce portrait servit pour une exposition et une publication pédagogique du mouvement Freinet en juin 1975. Le négatif est conservé dans le fonds Man Ray du Centre Pompidou.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue